Team Ilkeston Club Colour Gala

Date: Sunday 18th December 2016

Time: 15:00-18:00pm

Venue: Victoria Park Leisure Centre

Entry Fees: Swimmers Free & Spectators £1

Aims of the Club Colour Gala:

Involve all swimmers from Development & Competitive Squads in Inter-Club Gala

At the present time this opportunity is only available for main pool swimmers

Swimmers from all squads are mixed together to create six different teams

To continue to build a strong team culture within the Club at all levels

To prepare swimmers for competitions; i.e. open meets and galas

Presents the coaches with the opportunity to gain more up to date swim times

Allow swimmers the opportunity to learn from older more experienced swimmers

The Team Colours

1.   Blue Team

2.   Orange Team

3.   Green Team

4.   Purple Team

5.   Red Team

6.   Yellow Team

Swimmers that would like to take part need to register their interest with their coach!

Failure to notify us of your attendance may result in you not taking part

Warm Up will commence at 15:00pm until 15:30pm

As it’s Christmas – feel free to dress appropriately with Christmas Hats and/or Jumpers

We will confirm teams & captains beforehand & we’ll post these on club media pages

Ernehale Open

Swimmers 14 Years & Under:
(Age as at 12th March 2017)
Development & Main Squad Swimmers
(Tues 7-8 & Sun 3-4 Main Pool)

An open meet specifically for Junior and Age Group swimmers is going to be entered next year to give you the opportunity to experience an open meet setting away from our training pool. The meet is due to take place at Hucknall L.C. Attached is the entry form. Please visit their website for more information at

The meet is on the 11th & 12th March 2017

Erin will be posting a deadline date shortly.

We would like to see a lot of entries for this open meet.
Please do not leave it until last minute to hand these entries into Erin or your coach. It is a very popular meet and will most likely be operated on a first come first serve basis.

If you do not understand any of the forms or are struggling to fill them in, then please speak to Erin, Dan, Kyle or myself.


Winter Swim Challenge 2016

After two rounds of the Winter Swim Challenge the top 3 swimmers are as follows:


  1. Sophie Davies (179 Points)
  2. Angela Guilfoyle (167 Points)
  3. Jake Gaskin (151 Points)


  1. Louie Stadler (108 Points)
  2. Harry Joslin (106 Points)
  3. Tyler David (58 Points)

Just one round remains! Who will be crowned Winter Champion? Good luck all.

Club Development Camp: Feb 2017

Hi all,

Not long until the deadline for the Development Camp in February 2017.

Please make sure you have given your consent forms and payment of £20 in by 22nd December 2016 to secure your place. You can hand these into Kyle, Dan, Steph or myself.

Please help us by getting them in before the above date as we may refuse your application if it is after the Christmas period as a lot of planning is required to make this event successful for the swimmers.

Here’s a few comments from the Development Camp in February 2016.

“Enjoyed the varied training, great team builder”

“We really enjoyed it and got a lot of support and coaching from the weekend. Really good and well organised”

“Good fun, factual and inspiring”

“It has really helped me to focus believing in myself”

“Good to get more pool time to focus on dives and turns. It was really hard work, but enjoyed being challenged”

“More than value for money”

New Fee Structure – 2017

Notification of increase to Membership Fees – December 2016

Dear Member,

Due to our increasing costs and to ensure the successful progression of Ilkeston Swimming Club, some of our membership fees are to increase with effect from 1st January 2017 as follows:

Splash pool (1/2 hour swim once per week) 

No Increase – to remain at £18 per month

Splash pool (1 hour swim once per week):

From £18 to £20 per month

Main pool (1 hour swim once per week):

From £18 to £20 per month

Splash / main pool (more than 2 swims per week):

From £23 to £25 per month

Main pool (3 or more swims per week):

From £28 to £32 per month

Derventio Excel & Ilkeston Swimmers:

£3 per month


As always, payments are made by Standing Order, they CANNOT be increased by Ilkeston Swimming Club. 

We are asking that all members increase their Standing Orders to the correct amount by either contacting your Bank (Telephone, Internet Banking or visit to Branch) to alter this.

If you require a new Standing Order form these are available from our Membership Secretary, Dale Wilkins, or please ask our coaches. Alternatively you can request one by e-mail from me at

Please ensure you change your standing orders ready for 01/01/17.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Ilkeston Swimming Club Committee

Sunday Session (4/12)

Main Squad 16:00-18:00pm:

Training is on as normal & you should still attend if you are not racing at the DASA Sprints!

Those who are racing at the Sprints in Sheffield tomorrow; warm up begins at 08:30am

Please can you ensure you arrive at 08:00am on poolside. Please bring a chair!

Any withdrawals due to illness – please contact Erin and myself


Reminder: Presidents Night (11/12)

All Swimmers from Main Squads/Development Squads/Splash Squads

Presidents Awards Evening & Christmas Splash

All squads/swimmers are welcome to attend including parents/guardians

Sunday 11th December at 15:00pm until 18:00pm

Fun, Inflatables, and much more…

Awards will be presented around 16:30pm

See you there!

Ilkeston Coaching Team & Committee

November Stats:

Opens/Galas: JC Dobbs, Arena R2, Snow Frills Open, Development Time Trials, MS TT

Total Personal Best’s: 173

Top 3 Placings: 68 + 2 ST’s

Total Club Records: 4


Stats for September, October & November 2016:

Total Personal Best’s: 640

Top 3 Placings: 187

Total Club Records: 23

Open Meets coming up in December: DASA County Sprints & Arena R3


Well done swimmers & the coaching team for your hard work and efforts for November!


Success @ Snow Frills & Coventry

Another busy weekend, but this time just for a small number of swimmers racing at two different locations; Sheffield and Coventry – both Long Course Competitions.

At Ponds Forge it was the City of Sheffield Snow Frills Open Meet. A small group of seven age group swimmers spent the weekend racing a number of events, but with the main focus being on 100m & 200m distances with the DASA sprints taking place this weekend.

A very competitive open meet saw these younger less experienced swimmers thrive under pressure executing good techniques and skills. The swimmers conducted themselves professionally throughout the weekend and the team spirit was strong. Well done to the following swimmers; Amber Wilkins, Dominic Wynn, Eja Coe, Emma Wilkins, Erin Pickard, Ethan Hulme and Tegan Hulme.

A special mention for Dominic who has competed in his first Long Course Open Meet and in the process attained two pbs showing a clear improvement in skill level and his previous bests.

A total of 45 out of 45 pbs, and 1 silver medal for Eja Coe in the 50m Butterfly.

Overall, a very good weekend of quality racing!

Travelling to Coventry where DX were also competing at the City of Coventry Open. Kyle, DX Talent Coach, tells us more; four DX/Ilka swimmers were racing at the meet; Lewis Wright, Leah Burgin-Rawson, Charlie Palmer and Lewis Brown. All four swimmers attaining process bests as they played a role in helping Team DX secure the Top Club award at the Open! Well done swimmers!

The next and final two competitions of the year are the DASA sprints & R3 Arena League!

#Hardworkconquerseverything #TeamIlkeston